Riham's Blog



Gorillaz Concert in Lebanon

I know I have not updated in a while, but a lot has been going, and I’ve been busy non stop. I would just like to write about the Gorillaz concert while it’s still fresh in my mind. I also did not have my camera on me, so you get crappy cellphone pictures.

So, as you probably already know, Gorillaz performed in Jbeil last night, as part of the Byblos International Festival. I admit to the fact that I’m not what you would call a loyal fan to them, but I know them and some of their songs, and recognize others. The main reason I went was because it’s interesting to see a “virtual band” play live.

Kids With Guns!

The show was honestly amazing, and I very much enjoyed it. Of course, it started an hour late, which is to be expected by now. Since it was sold out, it was extremely crowded. Even though my tickets were seated, and I’m not that tall, staying seated was out of the question. We danced and sang with them, and everyone around me was very excited, which made the experience all the more fun.


One of the nice parts was that they had musicians with them from Syria, who played some arabic tunes, and were then combined with Gorillaz’s music. The Lebanese crowd did boo at some point, which was honestly annoying, but it was pretty much amazing. It was followed by Arabic rap, with the animations on the top having Arabic words on them. The “words” weren’t readable as the letters weren’t connected, but it was a nice and successful attempt at getting the crowd even crazier.

The choice of the final song was excellent, as it was Clint Eastwood. However, once they were done, a lot of “That’s it?” were heard, as we did not expect it to finish so soon. I personally expected them to come back for a few more songs, but they didn’t. This did not make the experience any less enjoyable, as it was short, but definitely worth it.

For (much) better pictures, please visit Beirut Night Life’s account of the event

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Danielle says:

    Glad to see you had a good time! And I still cannot believe that the crowd booed! What is that about? Man..sometimes I gotta wonder,,I really gotta wonder..

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  2. * king games says:

    Terrific, that’ s exactly what I was seeking for! You just spared me alot of work

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

