Riham's Blog



Nokia, I love you.

As everyone has already heard, the Blackberry service is going to be banned in the UAE starting October, an action that will also be taken in Saudi Arabia.

This is not a post to discuss why this is a negative step from a business perspective, or why the fact relatively free communication would cause a security threat is odd. It’s also not a post to tell you all that it may be rather easy to find an alternative to the benefits provided by the Blackberry service and businesses will probably continue as usual. We also won’t cover the reasons that lead me to wonder whether Lebanon will follow on this move. No, this is a post to declare that I will no longer plan to switch from Nokia phones, as everytime I plan to, it goes to hell.

I do think the BB phone itself is kind of ugly. But I had reasons to decide to get one (I was actually going next week!); my plan was to switch to Blackberry to communicate with a friend in the UAE, and family in Saudi Arabia. However, now that is useless.

So, here it is, I will finally say it. After experiencing one other type of phone (*cough*Motorola*cough*), Nokia is voted to be the nicest looking and the most user friendly, & I will more than likely never get another type of phone.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Fadi says:

    I hate to say this, but going from Nokia to Blackberry is a purely downward move, it should’ve been obvious to you without the help of the UAE and KSA governments πŸ˜›

    Oh by the way, have you tried Androids ? πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

