Riham's Blog



Why do I blog, anyway?

Ever since I started finding blogs written by Lebanese people in and outside of Lebanon, I’ve been adding more and more subscriptions to my reader. I absolutely love going through the posts everyday and reading about many subjects, or even many viewpoints of the same subject.

Each blogger posts for a different reason. It can be anything, going from having a talent to share, a passion to explore, or simply a lot to say. I personally have a lot to say, and that currently isn’t being seen through this blog. This was not always the case. As a matter of fact, I created a livejournal account a long time ago. The first one was used for two years. Those two years were the most difficult of my life, and rereading that journal (I prefer to call it that, as it is more personal) suffocated me, it felt like a weight on my chest and I had to get rid of it. I deleted that account and it has been purged, completely gone. I truly regret that, as it contained some graphic, vivid memories of significant days in my life, a time that truly changed me. This journal was a connection between myself now, and myself then, two completely different people, and it is now gone through a hasty and emotionally charged decision.

Then, I created a different account. I used this account from 2004 and I still have and use it. It almost got the same destiny as its previous one, but the day I wanted to delete it, I looked at the stats and realized it was the day my LJ turned 4! So I figured if it survived 4 years, then it’s worth being kept. Let’s look at the stats now.

Created on 2004-06-20 10:13:16
9,382 comments received, 59,448 comments posted
694 Journal Entries

So how come I was able to keep that journal and regularly use it for so long, while this blog is not being updated as much? Here’s the deal. I have always had a lot to say, and I have always enjoyed putting it into words. However, sharing it was never easy. In high school, professors would force me to read the pieces I write to everyone, and it made me want to disappear. Not because I didn’t think what I wrote was good, but because sharing it felt too personal for me. I felt like I was giving away a part of myself, and the reactions that would enduce scared me. This is why Livejournal was “friends only”. It is locked and the people I choose read it. Knowing who was reading what I was sharing comforted me. It isn’t that I don’t want others to read what I write, but it is just that I like being in the know.

The reason this blog was created is exactly that. I wanted to get over that complex. I didn’t want to feel like if I shared publicly, I’d lose some of my control. This blog’s “Raison d’etre” is exactly that, and it takes me time to decide to make a post, even if I have it ready.

So, all I’m saying is, tell me you’re reading, let me know you’re here in means other than the stats WordPress provides, and most importantly, bare with me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Mich says:

    Sharing is always very personal as you don’t know what reaction you will get. But that is the beauty of blogging I have discovered. I think your readers will respond to the sharing. There will always be some nasty comments, but hey… do you care??? Go for it, write, share and then write again and share again. I, for one, will always be here to read what you have to say and to comment and share with you šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  2. * meinlebanon says:

    I’m here and always will be..Now when are we going for lunch!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Fadi says:

    I might have had an entirely different experience, but I’ll tell you my point of view anyway. When I first started my blog, I told very few of my friends, precisely because some of the thoughts there were quite personal. There was something quite liberating about the fact that even though I was putting it all out there in the open, I was still pretty anonymous.

    Then slowly my friends knew about my blog, and that was a bit of a challenge, because my audience was no longer just a bunch of people around the world who might or might not comment, some of my readers were now people I see everyday, and the reaction was much more direct. But in the end what it comes down to is this:
    -Knowing how vulnerable you are, and putting it out there makes you stronger.
    -Writing down your opinions for everyone to read tests these opinion and inevitably helps you formulate them and defend them.

    Hope that helps šŸ™‚ Cheers !

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  4. * yasmine says:

    I have an actual journal at home that I found the other day, re-reading all the little notes and rants that I had, it was a sort of revelation to see how I have changed.
    I only recently started a blog and more than half the time I am at a loss at what I want to write…..I do prefer ink on paper rather than an electronic one everyone can read.

    I think that having somewhere you can write in keeps you in perspective of yourself even though you might not like what you have written when you re-read everything.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  5. * BeirutBoy says:

    Take all the time u need.

    Waiting for new posts šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

