Riham's Blog



What to do when you can’t find parking space

Men are continuously influenced and affected by their surroundings. Whether we want it to or not, the people we spend time with and the society we grow up in certainly affects us, the way we view things and how we respond to them. The affected actions can go from simple, routine day-to-day situations to deeper and important issues. Let’s take a concrete example.

What would a civilized person do when they cannot find a parking space:

  • Take this issue into consideration before going, and accordingly use public transportation, get a ride with a friend, avoid being in a situation where they have to look for a parking spot.
  • Keep driving around, sooner or later someone has to leave the area and take their car with them.
  • Try to find a nearby public parking, pay 2000LL, 3500LL if you’re in an upper scale area, and park there.

What would a Lebanese person do when they cannot find a parking space:

  • Start a huge fight, use all kinds of weapons, basically turn everyone’s life into hell.

Honestly, I don’t know for sure that this is what started the fight, but previous fights (ie, trees!) show that I shouldn’t be surprised if this is the case.
I also do not care about politics, or any group or sect or party or religion or whatever else way we internally divide and subdivide our people. All I care about is not to have bullets on my balcony or have to sit at home and hear all that debacle.

So for the love of God, next time you’re on that street, and you do not know where to park your car, and are so angry you just NEED to shoot someone for it, call me, I live there and am willing to give up my parking spot for your convenience.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * yasmine says:

    Well in the case of the tree – well Israel did not have a right to cross the border to improve it’s surveillance of Lebanon.

    But the clash over the parking space was absolutely pathetic. But there are rumors of it just being a cover up to get at one of the leaders of Hezbollah (I think he was the one that was killed). With things like this, you never know. You can not really know what is going to happen next.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Danielle says:

    Your beautiful Riham.. 🙂 Great post. I”m sorry again you had to go through that.. 😦

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Rebelle Anonyme says:

    Hayete sorry I have to pop out of the blues, bas eno don’t you think you’re exaggerating? Fine, eno things happen, but just cos you witnissed this one thing (I know it must’ve been awful and very unpleasant), doesn’t mean the entire population sucks halla2. Ba3den are you being credible? I thought I read something about you being a big fan of autobiographies..credibility should be one of your priorities when writing…la2? Rousseau himself in his Confessions must’ve told a thousand slick lies. I don’t mean to be rude, but if you’re taking him as an idol then I can’t predict a very sincere autobiography for you in the future. I’m sure there are tons of things you can criticize when you look around every single day, w ana awal wehde bl na2 wl critiques, 7atta l auto-critique, bas mesh me3neta lpopulation kella battlit teswa ye3ne?? 3enjed hel2ed mesh wasle lcivilisation bl balad la 7atta kel wahad ye7mol sle7 ta7t lseat taba3o bl siyara w yenzal yresh ldene 2was lama ma yle2e ma7al to park?? Walla mni7, at least now I know eno b baladeh lsha3b kello jehil. Shu ba3dik 3am ta3mle hon dakhlik?
    Sorry bas 7ayala 7ada ken mahalik w katab hek I would’ve reacted the same way, w wala 7ata I know you, bas writing hek won’t buy you an identity.
    (I left the wrong email and I wont be here again akid, so dont bother posting back, aktar shi delete this le2eno shi bijarres, xoxo!)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

