Riham's Blog



Blog Action Day 2010: Water

Have you ever had a long day at work and you waited for the moment you can get home and jump in the shower? Ever went jogging on a hot summer day, and waited for that moment when you’re done so you can have a big gulp of water? Now imagine if this shower and that drink were not an option for you.

If your country suffers from poor infrastructure in general, and water mismanagement in particular (not hinting at any one country here.. hmm), then you probably have lived through a day or two without running water. I know I have, and I can honestly say that I would choose lack of electricity over lack of water any day. If not being able to conveniently take a shower is so frustrating, imagine how much worse it would be if you didn’t have access to drinking water, and that this was your reality.

I don’t want this post to sound like a civics class. We’ve all taken those classes and we all know that there is a water problem in the world. However, it isn’t until you see the numbers and facts, and I mean really look at them, that you know how big the water problem is. Check out this page about water facts, and how they affect millions of people in the world.

Almost 1.1 billion people’s reality is much different than ours. What we take for granted and use, abuse and misuse is something they walk for kilometers to get and die in its pursuit. Millions of children die because of diseases related to the water problem. While knowing this, our problems should seem trivial.

Why hasn’t much been done about this? One of the reasons is what makes the world go round: Money. There isn’t enough funding to decrease the consequences of the scarcity of water, or the difficulty of access to it. This seems hard to believe when looking at the useless things governments spend money on. Tree shaped islands, weapons, the list can go on and on.

No individual can do anything to solve this, but what we can do is hel; spread awareness and donate. I can tell you about one thing I have recently done. My family and myself contributed to the building of a well. A small amount each, and we are helping bring water to people who need it most. I hate myself for not having all the information with me right now since I wanted to share it, but let me know if you are interested and I will give you all the details next week when I can get them.

This post is my participation in the Blog Action Day 2010.

Leave a Reply

