Riham's Blog



Those docks that I love

Wherever I go, there is always one area about each place that I love, that makes me happier than any other. The reasons behind each choice aren’t always clear, and it’s not always the best or prettiest area of the city. In Dublin, the grand canal square has taken this special place. What’s interesting is that it seems to be the case for several other people I know. I guess the reason behind this particular choice is that it is in fact a beautiful area.

During the day

I tend to express this love by taking a photo (with a crappy resolution due to bad mobile camera) every chance I get. Since I work and live in the area, this seems to happen quite often.

What can I tell you about it?

Another day shot from a different angle

Apparently, this area was not the best or the safest in Dublin over 10 years ago. A friend’s parent lived in Dublin at the time, and she informed him that whenever she passed by that part at night, she’d have to hurry in fear of being robbed or at the very least confronted.

The red sticks coming out of the ground all face (and lead to) the Grand Canal Theatre. They all light up at night, and there are some green parts around the ground. This was designed by an architecture and urban design firm called Martha Schwartz Partners. A friend told me that these sticks were supposed to represent trees, and the green lights on the ground is supposed to be the grass. This did not really click in my head; why would trees be red? As it turns out, these were just supposed to create an exciting and vibrant atmosphere for when people  go into a premiere or an event at the theatre. This makes more sense, especially since the ground is also a shade of red, which creates a red carpet kind of thing.

Yet another angle at a different time of the day

That area also seems to be paradoxal to me with the rest of Dublin. Dublin’s buildings are small and seem more traditional, while this is the only place I can think of that has a more modern feel. That particular idea reminds me of one of the places in New York that I absolutely loved. It was a a rock in Central Park that I loved as soon as I saw it for a similar reason. It was so rough and high, overlooking the park where you can see all the trees and the nature. Yet if you just look up, you see all the skyscrapers and towers, a “concrete jungle” even. The contrast was so interesting and beautiful.

As you can quite clearly see, a small part of the city is over thought and overanalyzed in my mind. When that happens, a rant needs to take place.

Well lit at night, unlike the rest of Dublin, which goes asleep way too early.

 

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * yasmine says:

    Did you manage to go to a production at the theater yet? It should be pretty good from what I have read about them.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • * Riham says:

      Yup! I saw Stomp & The sound of music there. Both were really greatly done!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

